WARNING – SCAM EMAIL “… shared a document ” !!!

WARNING IF YOU RECEIVE THIS EMAIL DO NOT FOLLOW THE PROMPTS!!!

There is a email going around this week that tells you a contact has shared a document with you….

It then prompts you to Log in to view the document, the email isn’t legitimate…

there are 2 ways to tell this isn’t a legitimate email:

  1. Look at the actual email address next to the person you know’s name…
  2. If you do click on the shared document / log in page you will notice all of the icons are warped (surely Google could fix this if it was real) and the Google copywright is the wrong year.

Why is this so Bad… If you do log in to one of these applications you are actually giving “ryanirishdancing@gmail.com” your username, password and access to your account including sensitive emails and your address book so they can now send this to your contacts…

It won’t get picked up as a virus as it is simply an email, that isn’t trying to “Run” anything…. If you are ever unsure CHECK!!!

email

How the email will appear

 

Verification screen

Log in screen

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

MicroEd Computers & Internet - Providing Computer Sales, Repairs and IT Support since 1984

MicroEd is a Telstra T-Suite Partner
MicroEd is proud to become a Telstra T-Suite and Microsoft Exchange Online partner.
MicroEd is Microsoft Registered & a Microsoft Exchange Partner